SRS Logo    The Signalling Record Society

Home Page    Railway Company Lists    County Lists

RailRef Line Codes DS

Dublin South Eastern Railway

Signal Fact 10

The Great Western Railway introduced point indicating targets in 1839.

The first installation was at Maidenhead.

This page should be regarded as “Work in Progress”. The webmaster will welcome additional information for this page.

In the list below the information is set out in tabular form, spread over four columns. The column entries are -

RailRef The Line Code used in RailRef system.
Line Detail The principal locations included within the Line Code. They are arranged in 'down' direction order. Locations shown are primarily stations and junctions to allow easy cross check against published atlases. Signal box names appear in italics where these are 'intermediate' to stations or have been shown to facilitate links from other pages on this web site. The inclusion of a station or junction name does not imply that there was always a signal box of that same name!
SBR The section reference used in the relevant Signal Box Register published by the Society.
ELR The corresponding Engineer's Line Reference(s). This will be blank for railways that never came within British Railways terms of reference. It will also be blank where British Railways had no surviving responsibility for infrastructure at the time the ELR system came into use.

RailRef Line Detail SBR ELR
DS001 Dublin Amiens Street to Westland Row
1m12c junction with GNR(I)
1m00c Dublin Amiens Street Junction (1) IS005 MI002
0m20c Tara Street (2)
0m00c Westland Row (3)
(1) now Dublin Connolly
(2) originally Tara Street & Georges Quay
(3) now Dublin Pearse
DS002 Dublin Westland Row to Shanganagh Junction via 1915 line
0m00c Westland Row (1) DS001
0m45c Grand Canal Dock
1m11c Lansdowne Road (2)
  Serpentine Avenue
1m47c Sandymount Avenue (3)
2m24c Sydney Parade (4)
2m60c Merrion
3m19c Booterstown
3m51c Williamstown
4m09c Blackrock
4m60c Seapoint (5)
5m27c Monkstown (6)
5m43c Dunleary
6m04c Dun Laoghaire (7)
6m15c Pier Junction DS005
6m56c Sandycove & Glasthule (8)
7m20c Glengeary
7m55c Dalkey (1st) (Atmospheric station)
8m08c Dalkey (2nd)
8m75c Obelisk Hill
9m50c Killiney (1st)
9m70c Killiney (2nd) (9)
10m15c Ballybrack (1st)
10m20c Ballybrack (2nd)
11m10c Woodbrook
11m20c Shankhill
11m77c Shanganagh Junction (2nd) DS011
12m00c Shanganagh Junction (3rd) DS010
(1) now Dublin Pearse
(2) originally Landsdowne Road & Ballsbridge
(3) now Sandymount
(4) aka Sidney Parade
(5) aka Monkstown & Seapoint
(6) later Salthill, now Salthill & Monkstown
(7) originally Kingstown Harbour, later Kingstown, now Dun Laoghaire Mallin
(8) originally Kingstown Sandycove, later Sandycove with Glasthule periodically added
(9) originally Killiney & Ballybrack
DS003 Coal Wharf Branch
DS004 St Michaelís Wharf Branch
DS005 Dun Laoghaire Pier Branch
datum Dublin Westland Row (Pearse)
6m15c Pier Junction DS001
6m33c Dun Laoghaire Pier (1)
(1) originally Kingstown Pier
DS006 Dalkey Atmospheric Station Branch
DS007 Ballybrack to Bray (1915 diversion)
datum Westland Row
10m15c Ballybrack (1st)
10m20c Ballybrack (2nd)
11m10c Woodbrook
11m16c Shankhill
  Shanganagh Junction (1st) DS011
DS010 Dublin Harcourt Street to Bray
0m00c Dublin Harcourt Street
0m10c Dublin Harcourt Road
1m00c Ranelagh (1)
3m00c Dundrum
5m20c Stillorgan
6m10c Foxrock
7m20c Carrickmines
9m55c Shankhill
10m42c Shanganagh Junction (2nd)
10m65c Shanganagh Junction (3rd) DS001 DS011
12m10c Shanganagh Junction (1st)
12m10c Shanganagh Junction Exchange Platform
12m20c Bray (2) DS020

(1) originally Rathmines &Ranelagh
(2) aka Bri Chualann, now Bray Daly
DS011 Shanganagh Junction Link
Shanganagh Junction DS010
Shanganagh Junction DS001
DS020 Bray to Wexford via post 1917 route
datum Dublin Harcourt Street
12m20c Bray (1) DS001 DS010
13m10c Naylor's Cove Halt (2)
17m04c Greystones (3)
19m66c Kilcool & Newtownmountkennedy (4)
22m38c Newcastle
25m44c Killoughter
27m60c Wicklow Junction DS027
28m20c Wicklow
29m54c Rathnew
32m54c Glenealy (1st)
33m20c Glenealy (2nd)
36m09c Rathdrum (1st)
37m24c Rathdrum (2nd)
42m67c Avoca (5)
44m55c Woodenbridge Junction DS028
44m62c Woodenbridge Junction station (6)
47m05c Glenart
49m02c Arklow
53m39c Inch
59m46c Gorey
67m09c Camolin
69m73c Ferns
77m41c Enniscorthy
81m06c Edermine Ferry
83m30c Macmine Junction DS040
83m32c Macmine Junction station
86m16c Killurin
92m12c Wexford (1st)
92m54c Wexford (2nd)
92m67c DSE / FRRHC boundary FR002

(1) aka Bri Chualann, now Bray Daly
(2) aka Bray Cove Halt
(3) originally Delgany, then Greystones & Delgany
(4) now Kilcoole
(5) originally Ovoca
(6) later Woodenbridge
DS021 Bray Head pre 1876 route
DS022 Brandy Hole to Cable Rock pre 1879 route
DS023 Rathdown original route
DS024 Rathdown 1888 deviation
DS025 Kilcoole original route
DS027 Murrough Goods Branch
datum Dublin Harcourt Street
27m60c Wicklow Junction DS020
28m32c Murrough Goods
  DSR / Harbour tramway boundary
DS028 Woodenbridge to Shillalagh
datum Dublin Harcourt Street
44m62c Woodenbridge Junction DS020
49m25c Aughrim
53m58c Ballinglen
56m54c Tinahely
61m16c Shillelagh (1st)
61m38c Shillelagh (2nd)
DS040 Macmine Junction to Waterford Abbey Junction
datum Dublin Harcourt Street
83m30c Macmine Junction DS020
84m14c Macmine
86m34c Sparrowsland
89m69c Chapel
93m69c Palace East
94m03c Palace East Junction GX024
96m55c Rathgarogue
101m02c current end of line
102m08c New Ross
108m00c Glenmore (1)
115m60c Abbey Junction FR010 FR012

(1) originally Glenmore & Aylwardstown
Abbey Junction to Waterford North
for detail see Fishguard & Rosslare FR012


Do you find this web site useful? If so, why not become a member of the Society

Page last modified Tuesday, 12th January, 2021, 17:53 hours.
Entire site copyright © 2008–2024 The Signalling Record Society. All rights reserved.
A Charitable Incorporated Organisation registered in England and Wales.
Registered Charity Number 1176506.