SRS Logo    The Signalling Record Society

Home Page    Railway Company Lists    County Lists

RailRef Line Codes NH

Signal Fact 32

Walker of the South Eastern Railway devised a form of block instrument which used miniature semaphore arms to denote the state of the line. The arms lowered when the line was clear.

Some of these instruments were still in use well into British Railways tenure.

Neath & Brecon Railway

This page should be regarded as “Work in Progress”. The webmaster will welcome additional information for this page.

In the list below the information is set out in tabular form, spread over four columns. The column entries are -

RailRef The Line Code used in RailRef system.
Line Detail The principal locations included within the Line Code. They are arranged in 'down' direction order. Locations shown are primarily stations and junctions to allow easy cross check against published atlases. Signal box names appear in italics where these are 'intermediate' to stations or have been shown to facilitate links from other pages on this web site. The inclusion of a station or junction name does not imply that there was always a signal box of that same name!
SBR The section reference used in the relevant Signal Box Register published by the Society.
ELR The corresponding Engineer's Line Reference(s). This will be blank for railways that never came within British Railways terms of reference. It will also be blank where British Railways had no surviving responsibility for infrastructure at the time the ELR system came into use.

RailRef Line Detail SBR ELR
NH001 Brecon - Neath & Brecon Junction GWR
33m05c N&B / B&M boundary BM001
32m53c Mount Street Sidings
32m44c Ely Place Depot
30m46c Cradoc
28m26c Aberbran
27m43c Penpont Halt
27m27c Abercamlais Halt
24m42c Devynock & Senny Bridge
20m79c Cray
16m75c Bwlch Sidings
16m71c Bwlch Summit
14m23c Craigynos (Penwyllt) (1)
11m22c Colbren Junction NH002
11m06c Colbren Junction station (2)
10m30c Onllwyn Junction NH003
10m23c Onllwyn
9m29c Pantyffordd
8m53c Seven Sisters
8m10c Ynysdawley
7m43c Dillwyn & Brynteg (3)
  Nant-y-Cafn Siding
6m50c Crynant New Colliery Halt
5m40c Crynant
4m31c Cefn Coed Colliery Halt
3m76c Blaenant
  Dylais Merthyr Colliery
2m04c Cilfrew
1m29c Penscynor Halt
0m78c Cadoxton Terrace Halt
0m59c Cadoxton Sidings
0m29c Neath Yard
0m06c Neath Yard Junction NH004
0m00c Neath & Brecon Junction (4) GW610
(1) Penwyllt until 1907
(2) Capel Colbren Junction until 1874
(3) Nantycafyn Colliery Halt until ??
(4) Cadoxton Junction until ??
NH002 Colbren Junction - Ynysygeinon Junction MR
0m00c Colbren Junction NH001
0m11c Colbren Junction station
2m06c Abercrave
4m63c Ystradgynlais
7m21c Ynysygeinon Junction (1) MR400
(1) aka Ynisygeinon Junction
NH003 Onllwyn - Maes-y-Marchog Colliery
0m00c Onllwyn Junction NH001 1m59c Maes-y-Marchog Colliery boundary
NH004 Neath Yard Line (Old Station)
0m29c Neath Station
0m26c Neath Yard Junction NH001


Do you find this web site useful? If so, why not become a member of the Society

Page last modified Wednesday, 17th February, 2021, 12:46 hours.
Entire site copyright © 2008–2024 The Signalling Record Society. All rights reserved.
A Charitable Incorporated Organisation registered in England and Wales.
Registered Charity Number 1176506.