Site Updated
6 October 2020
Page Updated
9 May 2017

SRS Logo    The Signalling Record Society

RailRef Line Codes MC

Maryport & Carlisle Railway

The Maryport & Carlisle Railway set out its directions of travel on the basis that the Down direction was from Carlisle to Maryport and this was perpetuated by the LMSR and BR-LMR.

The section of line from Carlisle No.5 to Carlisle No.8 was altered from 24 September 1951 to be down from Carlisle No.8 to Carlisle No.5. The change was published in weekly notice W1-38.

With the completion of stage 9 of the Carlisle resignalling on 3 June 1973 the Down direction was altered to be Down from Whitehaven Bransty to Carlisle No.8 to match the rest of the surviving Cumbrian railway lines. The change was published in signalling notice 3G of 1973, a copy of which is available on this web site.

The listings on this page show the Down direction used by the Maryport & Carlisle Railway - that is Down from Carlisle to Maryport.

Explanation of column content is here.

RailRef Line Detail SBR ELR
MC001 Carlisle No.5 - Wigton
datum Maryport Junction
27m56c Carlisle No.5 (South) Junction
26m74c Carlisle No.8 (Currock) Junction MC003
  Low Mill Level Crossing
23m43c Dalston
16m20c Wigton MC010
Article: Steam Days 2015 October.
MC002 Bog Goods (Crown Street) - Main Line Junction
MC003 Maryport & Carlisle Goods
0m00c Carlisle No.8 (Currock) Junction MC001
0m29c Carlisle No.9 (Forks) Junction MC007
0m40c Carlisle No.11 (Rome Street) Junction
MC004 Forks Junction - Crown Street Goods v original alignment
MC005 Forks Junction - Citadel Station v original alignment
MC006 Crown Street Station - Bog Junction
MC007 South Carlisle Goods
datum Currock Junction
0m29c Carlisle No.9 (Forks) Junction MC003
0m40c Carlisle No.10 (Bog) Junction
MC010 Wigton - Maryport Junction
16m20c Wigton MC001
  Aikbank Junction MC011
  Low Row
  Brayton Junction CA022
9m66c Brayton
7m65c Aspatria Junction MC011
7m64c Aspatria
  No.5 Pit
  Oughterhouse Colliery Halt
4m40c Bullgill Junction MC012
  Dearham Bridge (1)
0m27c Maryport (2nd)
  Maryport (1st)
0m00c Maryport Junction NW940
(1) Dearham until 1867.
MC011 Bolton Branch
datum Maryport Junction
14m78c Aikbank Junction MC010
  High Blaithwaite
7m65c Aspatria Junction MC010
MC012 Derwent Branch
datum Maryport with reversal at Bullgill
4m40c Bullgill Junction MC010
  Linefoot Junction
10m25c Brigham Junction NW944
MC013 Maryport - Senhouse Dock (South Quay)
0m00c Maryport
0m24c Ropery MC014
0m47c Senhouse Dock
MC014 Ropery - Elizabeth Dock
datum Maryport
0m24c Ropery MC013
0m47c Elizabeth Dock